RSS Feed

BernCo Commission Recommends Liz Stefanics for State Senate District 39 Vacancy

Bernalillo County – The Bernalillo County Commission today recommended Liz Stefanics of Santa Fe to fill the vacant seat in state Senate District 39.

Stefanics, a Santa Fe County commissioner and public policy consultant, was selected by a unanimous vote.

Bernalillo County’s recommendation will be forwarded to the governor, who will make the appointment.

Six counties altogether will send recommendations to the governor, since Senate District 39 covers parts of Bernalillo, Santa Fe, Valencia, Torrance, San Miguel and Lincoln counties. A map of Senate District 39 is located here.

“In her service as county commissioner and state senator, Liz Stefanics has represented her constituents with integrity and dedication,” Commission Chair Maggie Hart Stebbins says. “The Bernalillo County Commission recognizes that her experience and education will be a tremendous asset to the New Mexico Legislature.”

Eleven candidates sent letters of interest to the Board of Commissioners for the recommendation.

Stefanics has a doctorate in education from the University of Minnesota and has served as director of the New Mexico Health Policy Commission in addition to other top state government leadership positions, at both the New Mexico General Services and Human Services departments.

The vacancy in Senate District 39 was created on Saturday when former state Sen. Phil Griego resigned.

# # #

About Bernalillo County

Bernalillo County is 1,160 square miles and is New Mexico’s most populous county with more than 674,000 residents. Bernalillo County government provides a wide range of public services to residents who live in Albuquerque, Los Ranchos and Tijeras and the 111,000 residents who live outside the village and city limits in the unincorporated areas of the county.  Bernalillo County employs approximately 2,500 people and has an annual operating budget and capital investments of more than $500 million. Elected officials include five county commissioners, assessor, clerk, probate judge, sheriff and treasurer.